Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 2005 best

Harry Potter is a series of seven fantasy novels written by the British author J. K. Rowling. The books chronicle the adventures of the adolescent wizard Harry Potter and his best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, all of whom are students at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The main story arc concerns Harry's quest to overcome the evil wizard Lord Voldemort, whose aim is to conquer the wizarding world and subjugate non-magical people, and who seeks to destroy all those who stand in his way, such as Harry's parents.

Since the 30 June 1997 release of the first novel Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, (retitled Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone in the United States) the books have gained immense popularity, critical acclaim and commercial success worldwide.[1] The series has also had some share of criticism, including concern for the increasingly dark tone. As of June 2008, the book series has sold more than 400 million copies and has been translated into 67 languages,[2][3] and the last four books have consecutively set records as the fastest-selling books in history.

A series of many genres, including fantasy and coming of age (with elements of mystery, thriller, and romance), it has many cultural meanings and references. According to Rowling, the main theme is death although it is primarily considered to be a work of children's literature. There are also many other themes in the series, such as love and prejudice.

English-language versions of the books are published by Bloomsbury in the United Kingdom, Scholastic Press in the United States, Allen & Unwin in Australia, and Raincoast Books in Canada. Through 2010, the first six books have been made into films by Warner Brothers; it is the highest grossing film series of all time. The seventh book has been made into two films which are planned to be released nearly eight months apart: Part I was released 19 November 2010 and the series finale is currently scheduled for release on 15 July 2011 The series also originated much tie-in merchandise, making the Harry Potter brand worth in excess of $15 billion.
o 1.1 Wizarding world
o 1.2 Voldemort returns
o 1.3 Supplementary works
* 2 Structure and genre
* 3 Themes
* 4 Origins and publishing history
o 4.1 Translations
o 4.2 Completion of the series
* 5 Achievements
o 5.1 Cultural impact
o 5.2 Awards and honours
o 5.3 Commercial success
* 6 Reception and controversy
o 6.1 Literary criticism
o 6.2 Social impacts
o 6.3 Controversies
* 7 Audiobooks
* 8 Films
* 9 Games
* 10 Theme park expansion
* 11 References
* 12 Further reading
* 13 External links
Further information: Harry Potter universe
The Coat of Arms of Hogwarts, featuring scarlet and gold Gryffindor colours with the mascot Lion, yellow and black of Hufflepuff with the symbolic badger, bronze and blue Ravenclaw colours with an eagle, and Slytherin green and silver with a serpent mascot.
Coat of arms of Hogwarts with Motto.

The novels revolve around Harry Potter, an orphan who discovers at the age of eleven that he is a wizard, living within the ordinary world of non-magical or Muggle people Wizard ability is inborn, but magical children like Harry are invited to attend wizarding school to learn the magical skills necessary to succeed in the wizarding world.Harry becomes a student at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and it is here that most of the events of the novels take place, as Harry develops through his adolescence, learning to overcome the problems that face him, magical, social and emotional, including ordinary teenage challenges such as friendships and exams, and the greater challenge of preparing himself for the confrontation that lies ahead

Each book chronicles one year in Harry's life with the main narrative being set in the years 1991–98 The books also contain many flashbacks, with a significant number being from the year 1976 when Harry's parents were in their fifth year at Hogwarts. Other memories date from various determinable and undeterminable periods after 1945, although little reference is made to historic features or events of any period. The only specific date given in the series is in the last book, on the grave of Harry's parents, James and Lily Potter, and identifies their death as taking place in 1981.
Harry PotterHarry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter
Harry Potter

Total Pageviews